A Christian’s Response to the Election

Faith, Politics
IMG_6567.JPG

Self explanatory, me cheesing after I cast my vote!

Full disclaimer to this post: I am in no way well versed in politics. I pay attention usually only to the issues and people that matter to me as a woman, someone with college debt, someone who loves the environment, etc. I am not claiming to know a little about a lot.

So I have been putting off talking about this because I wanted to get my own feelings straight first. If you are friends with me on Facebook you probably know at least two things about me I am a liberal and I am a Christian. This election has challenged the relationship of those two things.

First of all, I honestly did not believe that Donald Trump would win the presidential race. I don’t think that makes me naive either. I believe a lot of people thought this same thing. Like there was no way, ever that someone like Donald Trump (a bigot, a sexist, a racist, a homophobe, etc.) would be elected to the highest office in the country.

Rewind for a minute– I also have to be honest and say at first I had a really hard time accepting Hillary Clinton as the Democratic party’s candidate, as my candidate. I wasn’t sure where she stood or if she really had my best interests in mind. And I can’t call out Trump on all of his “misgivings” if I don’t also air out my initial thoughts on Hillary. I was just unsure; what is Benghazi? What is wrong with a private email server? Did Hillary change her stances? I had to do my research, so I did!

I know a few women who have been with Hillary for very long time. One of these women, Gabby Richards, changed the way I looked at Mrs. Clinton. Gabby fought hard for Hillary, for her issues, and for her chance to be President of the United States. She separated truth from lies and constantly took on anti-Hillary trolls head on (even if that meant 50+ comment threads on Facebook). I learned so much about not only what Hillary stood for (me and the things I care about), but what it means to fight for someone (or something) that you believe in. Gabby taught me to literally speak out. Sometimes this sucked, I had to speak out at work, I had to speak out against my family members… sometimes it made my heart hurt.

But, I was (am) with her.

Now for the harder part.

This might be where I lose some people. And that’s okay! After Trump was elected it was like the world stopped for a second and all hell broke loose. Like I swear I could see in my head, all the bad things already happening in the world, in our country, being multiplied because we elected a leader who fed into that rhetoric. We elected a leader who let the bad, scary stuff (for lack of better words) help him win.

What did this mean for my future child (who will obviously be black)? What did this mean for me as a woman? And less selfishly, what did this mean for the thousands of people who no longer had a voice, who couldn’t protect themselves? I was scared.

So, two Sundays after November 9th I am at church and the title for the service is A Christian’s Response to the Election. I thought okay here we go. Just a side note: I do not attend a church that pushes any political party or candidate. I knew one of two things was about to happen: I would either feel justified or convicted.

Conviction it was.

Here’s my outline of the message, or you can watch it here.

img_6651

Did you read that last part? Pray for our President. Then pray for our President-elect Donald Trump. So I said sure, “Dear God, please let Trump get impeached.” Then my pastor said, you can’t pray for impeachment. FINE, GOD!

I was mad, I was mad at God and at myself. Like I literally had just been checked by God. If you’re reading this far you probably know what that feels like.

But then I really thought about it. I can change my actions, change my words. That doesn’t mean I’m giving up on the idea of a better situation for our country or I’m giving up on Hillary Clinton, it just means I’m making my first label a Christian. Then I can be a bleeding heart liberal.

I can’t deny that God has a plan and that it is my duty to pray into that plan. Right now Donald Trump is going to be POTUS. I can’t think of anything more powerful or heart-changing than prayer. When I say heart changing I mean my heart and Trump’s heart (as well as his cabinet).

Also, Romans 13:1-2 is very important —  Every person must obey the leaders of the land. There is no power given but from God, and all leaders are allowed by God. The person who does not obey the leaders of the land is working against what God has done.”

So if you are for Hillary, but you are a Christian, please ask yourself these crucial questions:

  1. What is your first/filter label? Is it Christian? Is it your party affiliation?
  2. Are you living with a God first attitude?
  3. Is your heart ready to pray for Donald Trump? Is your heart able to change?

Okay, whew. That was a lot. If this article offended anyone in anyway, please do not take offense. This was me checking myself and my heart. It was hard for me, but when things are hard that’s when things are about to change.

I’d love to talk more on this with anyone! Leave a comment below or reach out.

Lastly, thanks for reading!

PS: This article can apply to Trump supporters to 😉

 

2 thoughts on “A Christian’s Response to the Election

Leave a Reply

