You vs. You

What I’m Diffusing: 3 drops Motivate, 2 drops Wild Orange

What I’m Eating: Frosted Flakes, because I’m making today great!!


So I think I talk a lot about what the world expects of us career wise, and life in general. But today I want to talk about what society expects of our bodies. Yes, this is a body positivity post, or at least a post that talks about trying to achieve that.

I have been blessed, there was never really a point where I despised my body but on the same hand there was never a point where I really stopped trying to better my body. For my 16th birthday I didn’t ask for a car or whatever 16 year old girls usually ask for, I asked for a membership to our local YMCA. At that point in my life I had quit all of the sports that I had played because I lost my passion. I no longer wanted to play sports because they just weren’t fun anymore, but that’s a whole different post. So, I became really inactive for the first time in my life, hence the desire for the gym membership.

My body began to change a lot. During my freshman and sophomore year I had a lot of muscle growth because of conditioning for volleyball, I grew so fast that I developed a lot of stretch marks. This became my number one insecurity. Then I also began to compare my body to almost everyone around me.

In college I got really into lifting. I tried a ton of different workout plan and completely drowned my Instagram feed with bikini and physique competitors, workout mavens, and downright beautiful women. This is who I wanted to be like, and I told myself constantly seeing these “goals” would help me reach my ideal body faster.

This was so stupid.

Literally, this made no sense. FYI to any girl reading this who sees these females on Instagram with amazing bodies, odds are staying in shape and going to the gym is what this woman does as her full time job– monetizing her workout and meal plans. It took me a long time to realize that the women I were idolizing weren’t balancing an 18 credit course load, working part time, living on their own, being a state away from everyone they loved most, etc. Not only do these women have time to go to the gym, they probably also had the money and resources to eat healthy and buy all of the correct supplements. This just wasn’t me, it’s not me, it will never be me.

I am okay with that.

I am made in God’s image, and that is beautiful. That simple sentence, that’s what changed a lot for me. Also the fact that my husband won’t let me be down on myself. Do not get me wrong, I still fully believe taking care of my body because it is my temple. But, I don’t hate myself after I eat pizza or if I feel too tired to work out I won’t. Or, I will wear shorts that don’t hide my stretch marks. For the first time in a long time I am okay with what I look like. That’s why I had cereal this morning, with cows milk (because Frosted Flakes don’t taste the same with almond milk). What I am trying to say is, love yourself the way God loves you!

My favorite verses on body image:

I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. — Psalm 139:14

For while bodily training is of some value, godliness is of value in every way, as it holds promise for the present life and also for the life to come.– 1 Timothy 4:8

Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body. — 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

